Accreditation for Forestry Standards

Third-party forest certification provides assurance to purchasers of paper and wood products that these goods come from well-managed and legally harvested forests. ANAB has accreditation programs for the American Tree Farm System (ATFS) and Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) standards.

A CB must be accredited by ANAB to perform SFI forest management certification audits prior to applying for ATFS accreditation.

ATFS is a base standard program in ANAB's fee schedule.

Please refer to the information about the accreditation process at How to Become an ANAB-Accredited Certification Body.


You can view the ATFS application in .pdf format to understand specific requirements but the application process must be completed online via ANAB's EQM database; first-time EQM users must register to create an account.


Accreditation Requirements for Management Systems CBs

Also see requirements for EMS accreditation

ANAB Accreditation Rule 27

Available from the American Tree Farm System:

American Forest Foundation (AFF) 2015-2020 Standards of Sustainability for Forest Certification

2015-2020 ATFS Eligibility Requirements and Guidance for Certification

American Tree Farm System Sampling Procedures for Assessments

American Tree Farm System Tree Farm Inspection Record (ATFS Form 004 Revised 01/15)

2015-2020 American Tree Farm System Independently Managed Group (IMG) Standards

The following documents can be obtained at the Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification:

PEFC ST 2001:2008, PEFC Logo Usage Rules - Requirements

PEFC Annex 6, Certification and Accreditation Procedures

List of ANAB Accredited CBs

For more information, contact