Accreditation Rules for Management Systems Accreditation

ANAB Accreditation Rules (ARs) represent positions taken or policies established on operational issues related to ANAB ISO/IEC 17021-1 programs. By reference, ARs are incorporated in the ANAB documents for accreditation programs for certification bodies (CBs). ARs are controlled documents. Any copy printed from this site is considered uncontrolled and should be identified as such. The issue date of the current version (followed by the implementation or effective date if different) is indicated in parentheses.

1. Application of IAF MD 3:2008 for ASRP (withdrawn 2021/06/02 as IAF MD 3 was previously withdrawn)

2. Policy on Transition from ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board to ANSI National Accreditation Board, Including the ANAB Accreditation Symbol 

3. Combined Use of ANAB Symbol and IAF MLA Mark (withdrawn 2018/07/16 – see instead PR 1018)

4. Management Systems Integration (withdrawn 2018/07/03)

5. Compliance With Legislation and Regulatory Requirements

6. Certification Bodies with Activities in Multiple Countries or That Have Relationships with Other Entities

7. Significant Environmental Aspects and Impacts

8. Conforming With the Requirement for Initial Assessment of Auditor Performance During an On-site Audit

9. Certified Organizations Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery

10. CB Management of Marketing and Relationships With Bodies That Provide Management Systems Consulting 

11. Suspension of Accreditation by Management Staff 

12. Geographic Limitations of ANAB-Accredited Certification 

13. Complaints About Certification Bodies and Certified Organizations (withdrawn 2019/01/23 and replaced by company-wide online complaint process)

14. Access by Auditors Being Denied on Security Grounds 

15. Conformity to requirements when Organizations have Virtual Site(s) or Undisclosed Location(s) 

16. Requirement for CB Address on ANAB-Accredited Certification Documents

17. Application of IAF MD 2 (Transfer of Accredited Certification)

18. Scheduling of Witnessed Audits Required to Maintain ANAB Accreditation

19. Remote Assessments 

20. Accreditation Program for Quality Management Systems 

21. Accreditation Program for Environmental Management Systems 

22. Accreditation Program for Food Safety Management Systems 

23. Accreditation Program for FSSC 22000 Management Systems 

24. Accreditation Program for Supply Chain Security Management Systems 

25. Accreditation Program for Information Technology Service Management Systems

26. Accreditation Program for Sustainable Forestry Initiative 

27. Accreditation Program for American Tree Farm System 

28. Accreditation Program for Information Security Management Systems 

29. Accreditation Program for the Aerospace ICOP Program – AS9100, AS9110, and AS9120 

30. Accreditation Program for Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems 

31. Accreditation Program for ISO 50001 Energy Management Systems 

32. Accreditation Program for Recycling Industry Operating Standard 

33. Accreditation Program for e-Stewards Certification 

34. Accreditation Program for Responsible Recycling Certification 

35. Accreditation Program for Medical Device Quality Management Systems 

36. Accreditation Program for Counterfeit Electronics Prevention for Distributors 

37. Accreditation Program for Superior Energy Performance Certification 

38. Accreditation Program for TL 9000 

39. Accreditation Program for SN 9001 Quality Management Systems 

40. Accreditation Program for Security Operations Management Systems (withdrawn 2019/04/16)

41. Accreditation Program for Anti-Bribery Management Systems 

42. IAF Requirement for Accredited CBs to Issue Accredited MS Certifications 

43. Accreditation Program for BA 9000 Body Armor Quality Management Systems 

44. Accreditation Program for Gluten-Free Management Systems (withdrawn 2020/01/29)

45. Accreditation Program for ISO 55001 Asset Management Systems (

46. Accreditation Program for SQFI Ethical Sourcing Management Systems (withdrawn 2021/10/01)

47. Accreditation Program for ISO 15378  Management Systems 

48. Accreditation Program for Responsible Care – RC14001 and RCMS 

49. Accreditation Program for Privacy Information Management Systems 

50. Accreditation Program for Quality and Safety System for Specialty Feed Ingredients (FAMI-QS) Management Systems 

51. Accreditation Program for ISO 22301 Business Continuity Management Systems and PS-Prep 

52. Accreditation Program for ASIS SPC.1 Security, Preparedness, and Continuity Management Systems and PS-Prep 

53. Accreditation Program for NFPA 1600 Business Continuity Management Systems and PS-Prep 

54. Accreditation Program for ISO 41001 Facility Management Management Systems 

55. Accreditation Program for FDA Food Safety Modernization Act Accredited Third-Party Certification 

56. Accreditation Program for Leading Harvest Farm Management System 

57. Accreditation Program for Compliance Management System 

58. Accreditation Program for FSSC 24000 Social Management Systems

59. Accreditation Program for Artificial Intelligence Management System (AIMS)