Accreditation for Forestry Standards

Third-party forest certification provides assurance to purchasers of paper and wood products that these goods come from well-managed and legally harvested forests. ANAB has accreditation programs for Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) and the American Tree Farm System (ATFS) standards.

SFI is a base standard program in ANAB's fee schedule.

Please refer to the information about the accreditation process at How to Become an ANAB-Accredited Certification Body.


You can view the SFI application in .pdf format to understand specific requirements but the application process must be completed online via ANAB's EQM database; first-time EQM users must register to create an account.


Accreditation Requirements for Management Systems CBs

Also see requirements for EMS accreditation

ANAB Accreditation Rule 26

Requirements for the SFI 2015-2019 Standards and Rules (available from

Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) Certification and Accreditation Procedures Annex 6 (available from

IAF Mandatory Document 5, Determination of Audit Time of Quality and Environmental Management Systems (available from IAF)

IAF Mandatory Document 11, Application of ISO/IEC 17021 for Audits of Integrated Management Systems (available from IAF)

List of ANAB Accredited CBs

For more information, contact