person standing by commercial refrigerator


ENERGY STAR® Accreditation

What is Energy Star Accreditation and who is it for?

In 1992 the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) introduced ENERGY STAR as a voluntary labeling program designed to identify and promote energy-efficient products to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. January 1, 2011, the EPA revised the ENERGY STAR program to require third-party certification. EPA is solely responsible for identifying the criteria that products must be certified against to earn the ENERGY STAR certified label. EPA–recognized certification bodies (CBs) certify products that meet ENERGY STAR requirements and report information on those products to EPA. A CB must be EPA-recognized to certify products and a key criterion for recognition is accreditation to ISO/IEC 17065 by an accreditation body that is an International Accreditation Forum Multilateral Recognition Agreement (IAF MLA) signatory.

EPA-recognized Certification Bodies (CBs) are required to:

  • Maintain accreditation to ISO/IEC 17065
  • Certify product performance according to the “Standard Operating Procedure for Certification and Verification of Products to ENERGY STAR Specifications” (link to procedure on EPA site)
  • Report certified products and corresponding data to EPA.
  • Report any products/models that fail to meet ENERGY STAR certification requirements

Complete ongoing assessments from accreditors recognized by EPA.

In addition to ensuring credibility and assurance that certified products comply with applicable regulatory requirements, ENERGY STAR certification

  • helps save energy.
  • makes it easy for consumers to save money and protect the environment.
  • lowers energy bills, improve comfort, and reduce emissions.
  • provides tax credits for residential energy efficiency
  • To view a complete list of product categories, please visit

Steps to eNERGY STAR® Accreditation

accreditation process steps
  • File Application
  • Document Review
  • Preliminary Assessment (Optional)
  • Accreditation Assessment
  • Corrective Action
  • Accreditation Committee’s Decision
  • Accreditation Certificate
  • Surveillance / Reassessments

An EPA-recognized certification body must be accredited in accordance with ISO/IEC 17065 by an accreditation body that is an International Accreditation Forum Multilateral Recognition Agreement (IAF MLA) signatory.

As an IAF MLA signatory, ANAB, has achieved EPA recognition as an accreditation body (AB) and can offer accreditations to product certification bodies. ANAB’s technical knowledge and experience in a vast array of product categories allows ANAB to offer accreditation in accordance with all product specifications under the EPA ENERGY STAR Certification Program.

Talk to an Expert

Nikki Jackson

Senior Director, Product Certification


Portrait of Nikki Jackson

Need Training To Support Your Accreditation Journey?

Learn how to implement an accreditation program. Register for a course to get in-depth instruction on accreditation-related requirements and processes. 

Related Resources