Accreditation for Recycling Standards

ANAB offers accreditation for the following recycling standards: e-Stewards, Responsible Recycling (R2), and Recycling Industry Operating Standard (RIOS).

Accreditation for e-Stewards®

The e-Stewards standard is for use by organizations that have electronics recycling, processing, asset management, and refurbishment operations. The standard was developed by the environmental community in conjunction with industry experts in recycling and refurbishment, data security, worker health and safety, and auditing.

The e-Stewards program is a subordinate standard program in ANAB's fee schedule.

Please refer to the information about the accreditation process at How to Become an ANAB-Accredited Certification Body.

You can view the e-Stewards application in .pdf format to understand specific requirements but the application process must be completed online via ANAB's EQM database; first-time EQM users must register to create an account.


Accreditation Requirements for Management Systems CBs

ANAB Accreditation Rule 33

e-Stewards Standard for Responsible Recycling and Reuse of Electronic Equipment© (available from

e-Stewards Sanctioned Interpretations (available from

List of ANAB Accredited CBs

For more information, contact

National Strategy for Electronics Stewardship

The Interagency Task Force on Electronics Stewardship has released the National Strategy for Electronics Stewardship, which details the federal government's plan to enhance the management of electronics throughout the product life cycle.