May 22, 2019

ANAB Expands ILAC MRA Status to Include ISO 15189 for Medical Testing Labs

ANAB Expands ILAC MRA Status to Include ISO 15189 for Medical Testing Labs

ANAB is now a signatory of the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) mutual recognition arrangement (MRA) for ISO 15189 medical testing.

ANAB is now conducting ISO 15189 assessment activities, including to global leaders such LabCorp. ANAB has offers related training courses, including courses for ISO 15189 internal auditors and ISO 15189 lead assessors.

ANAB attained its ISO 15189 recognition via its recognition under the Asia Pacific Accreditation Cooperation (APAC) and InterAmerican Accreditation Cooperation (IAAC) regional groups. In addition to being recognized for ISO 15189, ANAB has previously signed the regional group MRAs and been recognized for:

  • ISO/IEC 17025 – Calibration and testing
  • ISO/IEC 17024 – Certification of persons
  • ISO/IEC 17065 – Certification of product, process and services (including sub-scope GlobalGAP IFA Control Points and Compliance Criteria)
  • ISO 14065 – Greenhouse gas validation and verification
  • ISO/IEC 17020 – Inspection
  • ISO/IEC 17043 – Proficiency testing providers
  • ISO 17034 – Reference material producers
  • ISO/IEC 17021-1 Management system certification

The addition of ISO 15189 represents a significant expansion of ANAB’s MRA status.

The ILAC MRA facilitates the acceptance of conformity assessment results (for example, test reports, test certificates, inspection reports, and certification) worldwide. Conformity assessment results that are produced by conformity assessment bodies that have been accredited by one MRA signatory are accepted by all the other MRA signatories.

The mutual recognition and acceptance of conformity assessment results reduces the need to undertake duplicate testing, inspection or certification, thus saving time and money, increasing economic efficiency and facilitating international trade.

The ILAC MRA links regional MRAs of recognized regional cooperation bodies (APAC and IAAC), to which ILAC delegates authority for the evaluations related to the MRA signatory status of accreditation bodies, such as ANAB, that are full members of ILAC. Accreditation bodies that are MRA signatories have undergone a rigorous peer evaluation in accordance with the requirements of ISO/IEC 17011 to demonstrate their competence.


Media Inquiries

Mary Kolberg

Manager, Communications