September 19, 2018

ANAB Signs IAAC MLA for Energy MS

iso energy

The InterAmerican Accreditation Cooperation (IAAC) on August 26, 2018, approved ANAB as a member of the IAAC multilateral recognition arrangement (MLA) for accreditation of energy management systems (EnMS) certification bodies.

The main scope is ISO/IEC 17021-1 and the sub-scopes are ISO 50001 and ISO 5003.

IAAC is a regional association of accreditation bodies whose mission is to promote cooperation among accreditation bodies of the Americas. The IAAC MLA is an agreement by which member accreditation bodies recognize accreditations issued by each other. This mutual recognition is based on the proper operation of the accreditation systems of the bodies that join the MLA.

By reducing the need for multiple assessments, the IAAC MLAs facilitate international trade by encouraging regional and worldwide acceptance of valid certificates and results issued by MLA signatories.

Signatories of IAAC’s MLAs must demonstrate through evaluations and witnessing of their assessment processes that they:

  • Conform with relevant standards and related IAF and ILAC documents
  • Complete at least one accreditation process in each of the accreditation programs for which they apply
  • Provide sufficient evidence to show they have implemented and maintain effective arrangements for management review and internal audits.

ANAB was previously approved for IAAC MLAs for accreditation of ISO/IEC 17021-1 certification bodies for the sub-scopes ISO 9001; ISO 14001; ISO 22000 and ISO/TS 22003; ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO/IEC 27006; and ISO 13485.

In addition, ANAB is recognized by IAAC for accreditation of ISO/IEC 17025 testing and calibration laboratories, ISO/IEC 17020 inspection bodies, ISO Guide 34 reference material producers, and ISO/IEC 17043 proficiency testing providers.

Media Inquiries

Mary Kolberg

Manager, Communications