Food and feed testing in lab


Food, Feed & Pharmaceutical

ANAB accredits product certification bodies for a variety of food safety certification programs based on ISO/IEC 17065 and relevant scheme requirements.

Safe Quality Food

Consumer confidence in safe quality food and the integrity of the food supply chain is enhanced by the partnership between ANAB and the Food Marketing Institute. ANAB provides accreditation services for FMI’s Safe Quality Food certification programs (

British Retail Consortium Global Standards

The British Retail Consortium Global Standards (or BRCGS) is one of the leading brand associations in the United Kingdom. They represent all forms of retailers from small, independently owned stores, to big chain stores and department stores that sell a wide selection of products. The BRC has developed standards to specify food safety and quality criteria required to be in place within a manufacturer’s organization to supply product to retailers and other users. Management and implementation control of the BRC standards is established through ANAB accreditation of product certification bodies to ISO/IEC 17065.


GLOBALG.A.P. standards are primarily designed to reassure consumers about how food is produced on the farm by minimizing detrimental environmental impacts of farming operations, reducing the use of chemical toxicants, and ensuring a responsible approach to animal welfare. The GLOBALG.A.P. standards are benchmarked to the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI). ANAB provides accreditation services to product certifiers for the GLOBALG.A.P. certification programs.


PrimusGFS is a Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) benchmarked certification scheme covering both Good Agricultural Practices (GAP) and Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) scopes, as well as Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS). The approval of the PrimusGFS certification scheme helps move the produce industry one step closer to the desired goal of global food safety harmonization. The PrimusGFS certification scheme covers the scope of the supply chain from pre- and post-farm-gate production and provides an integrated supply chain approach. The PrimusGFS scheme is owned and managed by Azzule Systems.

The International Featured Standards (IFS)

IFS, a GFSI benchmarked Food Safety Certification Scheme, brings a range of food safety, quality, food, and food contact related standards to the international market, including the North American market. In its mission to help provide assurance that food is safe, ANAB counts the IFS certification program among its list of food safety accreditation programs. IFS developed a quality and food safety standard for retailer branded food products named IFS Food, which is intended to allow the assessment of a supplier’s food safety and quality systems in accordance with a uniform approach.


CanadaGAP™ is a GFSI benchmarked Food Safety Certification Scheme that offers certification to companies that produce and handle fruits and vegetables. It is designed to help implement and maintain effective food safety procedures within fresh produce operations. Two manuals, one specific to greenhouse operations and the other for other fruit and vegetable operations, were developed by the horticultural industry and reviewed for technical soundness by Canadian government officials. The manuals are designed for companies implementing Good Agricultural Practices (GAPs) in their production, packing, and storage operations, and for re-packers and wholesalers implementing Good Manufacturing Practices (GMPs) and HACCP programs.

Best Aquaculture Practice

The Global Aquaculture Alliance (GAA) is a non-profit NGO that develops the Best Aquaculture Practices certification standards and encourages the use of responsible aquaculture practices. GAA also works to improve production and marketing efficiencies, and promote effective, coordinated regulatory and trade policies. To promote responsible practices across the aquaculture industry, the Global Seafood Alliance coordinates the development of Best Aquaculture Practices (BAP) certification standards for hatcheries, farms, processing facilities and feed mills.

The BAP certification program drives continued improvements via high standards that deliver significant benefits industrywide. The BAP standards cover aquaculture facilities for a variety of fish and crustacean species.

Talk to an Expert

Nikki Jackson

Senior Director, Product Certification


Portrait of Nikki Jackson

Need Training To Support Your Accreditation Journey?

Learn how to implement an accreditation program. Register for a course to get in-depth instruction on accreditation-related requirements and processes. 

Product certification Resources

Who is Accredited?

Search the directory of accredited product certification bodies.