Accreditation for NFPA 1600 Disaster/Emergency Management


NFPA 1600: Standard on Continuity, Emergency, and Crisis Management

What Is Accreditation for NFPA 1600 Standard on Continuity, Emergency, and crisis Management?

Under an agreement with the US Department of Homeland Security, ANAB has developed a program to oversee the certification process, manage accreditation, and accredit qualified third parties to carry out certifications of private sector entities for disaster preparedness, emergency management, and business continuity. CBs can be accredited for any or all of the designated PS-Prep standards: ISO 22301, ASIS SPC.1, and NFPA 1600.

Additional PS-Prep Information

CBs accredited for one of ANAB’s business continuity management systems programs (e.g., ISO 22301) may be recognized by ANAB to use the US Department of Homeland Security PS-Prep Mark. Currently, National Quality Assurance – USA, is recognized to use the PS-Prep Mark.

You can find more information about private sector preparedness at the PS-Prep site.

You can listen to a free educational webinar on Career Options and the PS-Prep Program sponsored by two non-profit organizations. (Note: Registration is required to access audio).

NFPA 1600 standard on continuity, Emergency, and Crisis Management Accreditation information

Featured Product

NFPA 1600 sets a common set of criteria for all-hazards disaster/crisis/disaster/emergency management and business continuity/continuity of operations programs

Talk to an Expert

Tina Garner

Senior Director of Accreditation, Management Systems
EHS, Recycling, Energy, Business Continuity, and RCMS Approval Programs


Need Training To Support Your Accreditation Journey?

Learn at your own pace with online courses or choose an instructor led class offered online or in a convenient location.

Management Systems Accreditation Resources

This manual explains the operational activities and responsibilities of ANAB and accredited management systems certification bodies (CBs).

Who is Accredited?

Search the directory of accredited management systems certification bodies.