Accreditation for Recycling Standards

ANAB offers accreditation for the following recycling standards: the Recycling Industry Operating Standard (RIOS), e-Stewards, and Responsible Recycling (R2).

Accreditation for Recycling Industry Operating Standard

The Recycling Industry Operating Standard (RIOS) is a comprehensive integrated quality, environmental, health, and safety system based on ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 and focusing on aspects relevant to the scrap recycling industries. The six components of RIOS cover general requirements, policy, planning, implementation, checking and corrective action, and management.

The RIOS program is a base standard program in ANAB's fee schedule.

Please refer to the information about the accreditation process at How to Become an ANAB-Accredited Certification Body.

You can view the RIOS application in .pdf format to understand specific requirements but the application process must be completed online via ANAB's EQM database; first-time EQM users must register to create an account.


Accreditation Requirements for Management Systems CBs

ANAB Accreditation Rule 32

Available from the Institute for Scrap Recycling Industries:

Recycling Industry Operating Standard (RIOS)

RIOS Certification Program document

List of ANAB Accredited CBs

For more information, contact

National Strategy for Electronics Stewardship

The Interagency Task Force on Electronics Stewardship has released the National Strategy for Electronics Stewardship, which details the federal government's plan to enhance the management of electronics throughout the product life cycle.